Sharing Strawberries With A Pro

Otis Livingston/Monica Seles 

By Otis Livingston

 

I got the chance to hit tennis balls with a real star on Thursday. I think my 16-year-old daughter Alexandria is a tennis star in the making, but Monica Seles is a 9-time tennis Grand Slam champion.

 

Seles was in town as part of a promotional tour that featured her “playing” against another legend Jim Courier on pop up Wimbledon style courts around the city.  Today In New York was the first stop on her tour. In honor of Wimbledon and the grass courts of the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club I wore all white, all the way down to my wristband and headband. Unfortunately, It didn’t help my game. Seles was very gracious as we volleyed with one another. Seles showed off her another talent by talking and volleying at the same time, which I found very challenging.

 

Getting to eat strawberries and cream from the cart that was on site was another treat for me. Strawberries and cream are a staple for fans who attend Wimbledon. On the morning show, I posed the question what’s better than watching Wimbledon on 4 New York in June? For me it was meeting and then playing with Seles on a Wimbledon style court. We had a blast. And afterward we both scarfed down some strawberries and cream in our all-whites. It doesn’t get much better than that.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment