Just Another Yankee/Red Sox Series

Len Berman, Sports Anchor

My wife is not a sports fan. But she figured something was up when one of her best friends went to every one of the Yankee/Red Sox games over the weekend at Fenway. The YES cameras actually caught her on camera Friday night and the announcers wondered what she was eating? For the record, it was an orange.

I was on a Jet Blue flight Sunday night when the Red Sox hit four straight homers. I motioned to my wife in the next seat after the 2nd, third, and 4th homers. She found it mildly interesting as she glanced over from the Home and Garden Channel or whatever it was she was watching. She thinks decorating a bathroom at a discount is infinitely more interesting than baseball.

It wasn’t until a couple of hours later when I broke the news to her that the Red Sox swept the Yankees. Her question was a good one. “What does it mean?” My answer was “nothing.” After all the angst over Mariano Rivera blowing Friday nights save, and Sunday nights homer barrage, the truth of the matter is “its early.” Then again, the Yanks have major pitching issues and I was impressed with something the Red Sox did Saturday. Two straight bunt singles. When’s the last time the Yankees did that? Are we in for another season of the “Yankee All Stars” not bunting, not stealing, not moving the runner over, and not playing a team game? If so… I may check out that Home and Garden Channel myself.

One Response

  1. hey rob,
    “what does that mean?”

Leave a comment